Cumberland Lodge will be holding its Heritage Open Days on 15 and 16 September.
There will be tours of the building and a chance to hear its history, as part of the national Heritage Open Days scheme, alongside special talks on the extrordinary women that lived and worked here.
Cumberland Lodge has been the home of an educational foundation since 1947. A former royal residence set in the heart of Windsor Great Park, it has a fascinating history dating back to the 17th century.
Historically, the Lodge was home to the Rangers of the Great Park, including Prince Christian and Princess Helena, daughter of Queen Victoria in the late 19th century. It takes its name from William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland and second son of King George II, who took up the Rangership in 1746.
At that point, King George VI broke with tradition and Cumberland Lodge was granted to a new educational foundation, established by Amy Buller, who had recently published her groundbreaking book, Darkness over Germany, about the rise of Nazi sentiments amongst students and academics in Germany in the late 1930s. Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother was Patron of the organisation, which was originally called the St Catharine’s Foundation and later became The King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Foundation of St Catharine. This was the basis for the present day Cumberland Lodge, which is honoured to call Queen Elizabeth II its patron.
Tours will take place on the hour at the following times:
Saturday 10am, 11am, 2pm and 3pm
Sunday 10am, 11am, 2pm and 3pm
The following talks will take place:
12pm - Sarah, Duchess of Marlborough
1pm - Amy Buller
12pm - Princess Marie Louise
1pm - Princess Helena
This event is free but tours must be booked in advance through Eventbrite.
Please contact email@example.com for further details or enquiries.